20% Miles Bonus on Citi AA Visa … And Why I’m Not Taking AAdvantage


Note: I don’t receive any referral credits or bonuses from the links in this post.

I received an email yesterday just after lunch from Citi informing me of a promotion wherein you get an extra 0.2 miles per dollar spent on their Visa card (registration required). This seems to be a targeted promotion (there was an invitation code in the email). The main paragraph from the email says:

Click the “Enroll Now”** button to accept this offer and earn an additional 0.2 AAdvantage® mile for every $1 spent on eligible purchases until 4/30/12. That’s 20% more AAdvantage® miles on what you buy.** Get packing!

Now, I (of course) immediately signed up for this promotion because there’s no penalty for doing so and maybe I’ll be tempted with that card at some point (e.g. it’s the card associated with my SkyMiles Dining account in case I use that). However, I’m not diverting any spend there for two reasons:

  1. I just got my Chase Sapphire Preferred in the mail yesterday and need to meet the  minimum spend (which I’m likely to do today anyhow).
  2. There are still better options for earning AAdvantage miles.

Regarding reason #2 above, if what you’re after is earning AAdvantage miles, and you have the Starwood American Express card, then that’s the card you should be targeting with your spend. It earns an extra 5,000 AAdvantage miles for every 20,000 Starpoints that you transfer. Doing the math .. .let’s see … carry the 1 … multiply by pi … and that works out to 1.25 miles per dollar spent. The last I checked 1.25 > 1.20, so it’s still a better deal to use that Starwood AmEx.

Now, if you don’t have a Starwood AmEx and you are focusing on AAdvantage miles, then by all means, divert your spending to the Citi AA Visa card. However, by now most of you probably have that card and if you don’t, then you should get it. In fact, you should ask me to refer you so that I get some points out of it, too 🙂

, ,

  1. #1 by Anonymous on May 14, 2012 - 10:33 am

    Could you refer me the citi aa advantage? xiaohanzhang1985@gmail.com

    • #2 by cdmoye on May 14, 2012 - 4:22 pm

      There’s not a “refer a friend” option for that card, but here is a link to a Citi Visa offer for 50,000 AAdvantage miles + 2 lounge passes +$150 statement credit + double miles on AA purchases for 12 months when you spend $3,000 within 4 months.

      Enjoy!

