Paris in the Springtime


I am taking a family vacation to Paris over the Easter break. Me, my wife, our 2 oldest daughters (13 and 10) and my mother–who has never been out of the US. We are staying for 8 nights (and yes, we have 2 hotel rooms!). Apart from the obvious, what should we make sure to see/do while we’re there? Any and all tips are appreciated!

Incidentally, my mother will serve as an in-transit babysitter, so my wife and I will have the ability to do things sans the rest of the clan as well. Feel free to leave comments for everyone to benefit, or to send me private messages if you don’t want the comment to be public.

Thanks!

, , ,

  1. #1 by Luke Heikkila on April 3, 2012 - 3:44 pm

    Plan for a day to recover. I was in Paris with my family in January, didn’t account for how tired the kids would be when we got there. My kids are younger than yours, but we were all dragging by the time we finally got to Paris. Enjoy the trip!

    • #2 by cdmoye on April 3, 2012 - 4:08 pm

      Agreed. We arrive in Paris in the morning and will take it easy that day–no naps though, we have to adjust to the time. I normally adjust pretty easily, but I’m also a little concerned about the return trip. We get back around midnight and I’m on a flight bright the next morning for a business meeting in CA! Paris time->Eastern US->Western US. That will be fun šŸ™‚

  2. #3 by Anonymous on April 3, 2012 - 4:08 pm

    see http://www.ricksteves.com for a ton of practical advice online that is free, watch his tv show covering paris on http://www.hulu.com and if you want, buy is book covering paris second hand on amazon.

    • #4 by cdmoye on April 3, 2012 - 4:19 pm

      Good call on the video. I will check it out. I actually have the book already–a friend lent it to me. I’m normally a fan of the Eyewitness/Lonely Planet combo (I use each for different things). But I’ve heard that the Rick Steves book for Paris is quite good.

  3. #5 by Scott B (@springkeeper) on April 3, 2012 - 6:28 pm

    Dave,
    Where in Paris are you staying, what arrondissement? The last time we were there (without kids), we were lucky to stay just across the Seine from the Louvre, in the Sixth (St. Germain). Made for a lot of easy walking to the major sites, and was also a great neighborhood for groceries, local restaurants, etc.

    • #6 by cdmoye on April 3, 2012 - 10:29 pm

      We considered St. Germain. However, we’re staying a little out (about a 10 minute RER ride from downtown proper) to save about $1000 to spend on food. When you do two rooms for eight nights, that extra $60 per adds up šŸ™‚

  4. #7 by Mark on April 4, 2012 - 5:45 pm

    Make a day trip to Versailles to understand the excesses that led to the Revolution. Make the Musee D’Orsay a higher priority than the Lourve. Picnic on the vast lawn beneath the Eiffel Tower. Notre Dame and St. Chappelle cathedrals.

    • #8 by cdmoye on April 7, 2012 - 3:04 pm

      Mark, excellent suggestions! We plan on attending an Easter mass at Notre Dame tomorrow to watch/hear the ringing of the bumblebee.

