Paris Trip Report, Part 4: Getting Home


I will wrap up the formal part of this trip report with a quick overview of our travels home.

We took the RER from the nearby Noisy-le-Grand stop to CDG airport. This was a bit of a haul (it took just over an hour for that train ride), but It was about €100 cheaper than an airport van would’ve been (the savings would have been more substantial for fewer people—we had to buy 5 train tickets).

When we arrived at CDG, there was not any real time to spend at the Admiral’s Club, so we just headed for the gate to await boarding.

We boarded AA 41 and a Boeing 767-300 bound for ORD. This was a 9.5 hour flight that went much better than you would imagine in main cabin. None of the 5 of us had any real strain, and the flight didn’t seem any longer than a couple of hours. We had reasonable neighbors and a skilled flight crew that helped that along, for sure. We touched down at ORD just before 3PM central, breezed through customs, rechecked our bags and headed to the Admiral’s Club to catch up on world happenings and get a bite to eat.

I’ve reviewed the ORD Admiral’s Club before, so I won’t get into it again here, but I do want to reiterate how great the Eames Chairs are! At about 7PM, we boarded AA 1972 and an MD-83 en route to RDU and home. That flight was… well, I’m not sure. I slept the 1.5 hours away, so I’m sure it was great. We touched down at RDU, picked the car up from Park-and-Ride 4 and headed home to see our 3-year-old and give the grandparents a much-deserved tag out!

I will conclude this series with the next post. That post will be primarily geared toward what YOU should do when you take a family vacation to Paris… and tips to get the most out of it!

, , , ,

  1. #1 by Elena on April 23, 2012 - 7:01 pm

    WOW. How do you travel with so much stuff and stay sane ?..

    • #2 by cdmoye on April 24, 2012 - 8:44 am

      Actually I don’t normally travel with much at all. I’m a long-distance backpacker as a hobby and like to travel as lightly as possible (I know the weight of most of what I carry down to the ounce!). My wife, daughters and mother on the other hand… Let’s just say they never got into backpacking 🙂

  1. Paris Trip Report, Part 1: Miami « Flyalog
  2. Paris Trip Report, Part 2: Miami to Paris « Flyalog
  3. Paris Trip Report, Part 3: Staying in Paris « Flyalog
  4. Paris Trip Report, Part 5: Tips for Vacationing in Paris « Flyalog
  5. Paris Trip Report, Part 6: Tips for Vacationing in Paris II « Flyalog
